top of page

Student Council

20230515_123640 (1).jpg

Beech Hill College Student Council 

The Beech Hill College Student Council is a representative structure for students only, through which they can become involved in the affairs of the school, working in partnership with school management, staff and parents for the benefit of the school and its students.  

The role of the student council involves:  

  • Creating a positive school atmosphere  

  • Allowing students to participate more fully in the school as a consultative body, providers of information and contributors to school policy.  

  • Supporting and including the students’ views  

  • Creating educational opportunities for students  

  • Providing a better learning environment through the improvement of school conditions and facilities. 

  • Helping students to develop important life skills such as project and teamwork, problem solving, communication and leadership skills, responsibility and accountability.  

  • Developing a genuine partnership between the staff and students.  

  • Showing respect for the views of students.  

  • Raising awareness among the students of “bigger issues “such as poverty, environment, health and peer pressure.  

  • Establishing links with the local community. 


Structure of the Student Council  

Only students can be members of the Student Council. The membership of the student council shall consist of a minimum of ten and a maximum of fifteen students. Members can be elected from first to sixth year with each year electing candidates from their own year group. The elected members will represent the school and the entire student body. First year elections are held at the beginning of Term 2, with sixth year members standing down at this point in the year. 

The Beech Hill College Student Council members for 2023 are as follows: 

1st year – Brendan Sheerin, Daniel Treanor, Katie Mc Crystal 

2nd year – Rachel Ruddy, Matas Roda 

3rd year – Clodagh Kelly, Saoirse Mc Aree 

4th year – Shannon Boylan, Bridie Smyth 

5th year – Ethan Mc Carron, Rebecca Livingstone 

bottom of page